Presentation of the Faculty of Theology - Titles conferred PDF Print E-mail
Article Index
Presentation of the Faculty of Theology
The Mission
The Origins
International Collaboration
Titles conferred
Chairs of Learning
The Professors
The Students
Prospects for the future
All Pages


Titles conferred

The Faculty offers the following academic degrees:

  • The Baccalaureate (STB), at the end of the First Cycle;
  • The Licentiate (STL), at the end of the Second Cycle;
  • The Doctorate (STD), at the end of the Third Cycle.

The First Cycle (Baccalaureate) has a three year duration and presupposes a Baccalaureate in Philosophy or an equivalent curriculum. Courses and seminars are offered in two Sections, Italian and English.

The Second Cycle (Licentiate) has a minimum two years duration and presupposes the Baccalaureate in Theology or an equivalent curriculum. The areas of specialization offered are:

  • Biblical Theology;
  • Thomistic Theology;
  • Dogmatic Theology;
  • Ecumenical Theology;
  • Moral Theology;
  • Spiritual Theology.

The Third Cycle (Doctorate) has a minimum two years duration; it presupposes a Licentiate in Theology obtained from a Pontifical University or Faculty. It concludes with the elaboration of a Doctoral Thesis which contributes to the progress of the sacred sciences.

The Faculty of Theology, moreover, offers a Diploma in Spirituality and in Pastoral Theology, a Course of formation in ‘Non conventional Religions and Spiritualities’ (in collaboration with a Group of Socio-Religious Scholars)

The Faculty proposes a personalized plan of study for the ongoing theological-spiritual formation, for priests as well as religious men and women, as also for the laity.


Last Updated on Wednesday, 27 July 2011 12:37

Free template 'Colorfall' by [ Anch ] Studio. Please, don't remove this hidden copyleft!